Day 12 & 13 – Christmas Cookies, baked goods and CHOCOLATE

What is Christmas without food? To be more exact – cookies. Oh and chocolate. We cannot forget chocolate at Christmas! Short breads, ginger breads, and a whole bunch of others. I am drooling at the thought. Oh no wait; I am also drooling because my house smells like fresh baked brownies right now.

I love to bake. Really. Ask my husband! I am the reason he gains so much weight over the winter. Banana breads, cookies, brownies, cakes. You name it, I will probably bake it over the course of the winter months. Thankfully between the three of us the baked goods do not last very long in this house. Then I get to bake some more!

The recipe for brownies I received from my friend Katie. Most recipes I have tried in the past all came out dry and crumbly and just…shitty. They were not the brownie I was looking for. I have found the perfect brownie recipe! And after trying it once, I decided to make a second batch. And alter it. I had the inspiration from Mexican Hot Chocolate. Reaaaaalllly yummy. Trust me. Don’t believe me? Google it for a recipe. Cinnamon and chocolate combined in a brownie sounds like heaven to me! Now I cannot wait for them to cool down so I can chomp into them. Or two. Or three. I have a funny feeling I am going to have to buy more cocoa soon….

Brownies

Ingredients:

4 eggs

1 c. melted butter

1 c. cocoa

2 c. sugar

6 Tbsp. flour

1 c. chopped walnuts (optional) (side note – walnuts make the brownies healthier, right?)

splash of vanilla

about 1/2 Tbsp. – 1 Tbsp. cinnamon (really to suit your taste)

splash of milk (I find I need to thin the batter out a smidge)

Instructions:

Mix dry.

Beat wet into dry ingredients.

Stir in the nuts.

Bake at 350 F for 30 minutes or until done.

Leave a Reply

