Day 11 – The Crèche or Nativity Scene

Now, I may not believe in Jesus, but to me Christmas just is not Christmas without setting up my grandmother’s crèche. Every year as early as I can remember, I would go over to her home to set it up for her. Everything had its place. Jesus and the three wise men with their camel hidden in the back until they arrived. The rest of the figurines in the front and how they were placed were changed every year depending upon my whim, fancy and imagination. Then the lights placed on top to light it up – always making sure the yellow one was in the center pointing straight up like the star of Bethlehem.

This year, she passed the tradition of setting up the crèche at my home. She says she has gotten too old for it, plus most of the time she is not home for Christmas. Even though it is not in my beliefs I still set it up. It is tradition. It might not be set up properly due to lack of size of where it is placed this year, but that is alright. It will also give plenty of stories to be told to Ashlynn when she is older. Mind you; Steve might have to do some minor repairs to it as the years go by as it is at least 60 years old. I guess that means I have an antique on my hands! But if he does anything to fix the ‘drunken camel’ I might be sorely upset. It is an icon of laughter of how come the camel always falls over or has to be leaned up against the crèche every year.

The crèche set up ontop of our antique three-tiered table. Where it is safe from little hands and cats.

The crèche set up ontop of our antique three-tiered table. Where it is safe from little hands and cats.

Leave a Reply

